Parents in Retirement

After you’re off from your regular nine-to-fives, you are now, being, ASKED by your own young, to RAISE up their young, because they’re now, providing FOR their children, and can’t stay by their children like you couldn’t because you needed to put money on the tables, that’s just, wrong, in my opinion, but hey, what would I know…translated…

The dinner time for the family of four of us, we’d discussed it to several decades, later, our two girls to starting in their careers and families, and by then, we would be elderly too, and we will get to live out the retirement we desired; my husband is into photography, I, love writing the, stories, I want to start off from traveling the island, to find the stories to document, to going abroad for the adventures, for our, “honeymoon in the golden years”, to relive the times of when it was only the two of us when we were, newlyweds.

instead of parents raising their own young, this, is what happens…and maybe, some of you think that this is, “heartwarming”, but it’s, not, because these babies ARE your children’s, and they can’t raise them personally, because they HAVE to work, and so, it’d become, YOUR, obligations…phoro from online

As we were, weaving up these, dreams, my six-year-old eldest daughter chimed in, “that won’t do, you guys can’t go abroad.”, my husband was confused, “why, you guys are old enough, mommy and I want to take a long rest to travel a bit!”

She’d had that seriousness of her face, responded, “I want to have babies like mommy, but I don’t want to take care of them, it’s too tiring!  I want mommy to help me look after my young, and daddy can care for sister’s children, and that way, sister and I get to, take our, breaks.”

I was frozen in that, freezeframe, with the bowls, the chopsticks in my hands, started, chuckling, thought, “you’d, modeled after my complaints when I got too tired of raising the two of you in wanting my mini-vacation, and you’re, too agile in, helping to set up our retirement but still working haven for the futures.

Yeah, this may look and sound cute, in that time frame, but, think about it, how awful it would be, that when you’re, retired from working (when you’re supposed to be able to, breathe, easier???) you are now, left with the raising of your own, grandchildren?  I mean, maybe you think, that it’s a wonderful thing, because you finally got to make up for the time lost when your kids were young, the time you’d not spent with them enough, because you HAD to make a living, but, this SHIT will keep on rolling, and then, this is NOT what parenthood is about: we should be raising OUR own children, interacting with them every single day, while we work our hands to the bones, in our, separate, five-to-nines (forget about the “regular hours” of nine-to-five!), and, this is just NO good, no matter IF you would be, enjoying your times as grandpas and grandmas.  You’d already HAD your turn, raised up your own children (but you’d failed to interact with them enough because you HAD to work???), and you THINK, that somehow, you can, make up for lost time, by helping your own young, raise their children???  Yeah, that’s just, not right!

Leave a comment

Filed under Awareness, Cost of Living, Emptiness of Modern Man's Souls, Family Dynamics, Family Matters, Life, Messed Up Values, Modeling Behaviors, Observations, Perspectives, Philosophies of Life, Properties of Life, Socialization, Values, Vicious Cycle

Say What You Want to...

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.