Signaling Twice

The courtesy of fellow drivers, passing that, kindness, along…translated…

That day, my daughter, at before 7:30 in the morn, had me let her out of the car at the Ji-Shan Road and Lingxi Road intersection.  As I’d completed my mission, I drove onward, turned left a Fuling Road, passed Taibei High School, I should be on the inside lanes, so I can, head straight onto Zhongshan North Road, and NOT get onto Zhongzhen Road.  I’d signaled, steered to the left, then, miracle, that car on the back left, allowed me the right of way.  After I’d, successfully changed lanes, I’d, signaled the driver twice to say thank you, don’t know if the driver received it or not.

Back when I was a young child, my father would drive the whole family of five all over the land, following the north and south freeways, all the way to Kaohsiung.  I’d often seen those other cars, using the headlights at us, and my father would wave to show thanks.  I’d started wondering, of how my father had, known all those, people on the roads with him, he’d smiled and explained to me, that that was the other drivers’ reminder of how there are police patrol up ahead, to check for speeding and if the car had too many, people in it.

using the hands to let someone go ahead, instead of the signal lights…photo from online

And, this sort of an understanding of the drivers, with the advancements of the roads, the improvements of the freeways and highway, are no longer, in use anymore.  But in a Japanese T.V. program, I saw how the car on the back, allowing the car at the front, to go ahead, and the car at the back, flashed the signal lights, twice to say thank you, and it’d dawned on me, that the drivers in Taiwan, mostly the cabdrivers, and the bus drivers, would keep the same behaviors, showed their kindness toward one another using this way.

I’d gotten on the Nansheng Road with the speed limit of forty kilometers, the car behind me was, tailgating, don’t know if he was hurrying or what.  I’d, found a location, and allowed him to pass me, he’d, slipped on by past me, and, flashed me twice using his signal lights!

Ha, I’d gotten his heart, you’re more than welcome, just be sure, you aren’t, speeding!

So, this is the courtesy on the roads, that people showed to each other, and, we must all be, very kind toward each other, and NOT fought for our own right of way, because, even IF we have, the right of way, we can still, be kind to each other on the, roads.

Leave a comment

Filed under A Cycle of Kindness, Interactions Shared with the World, Kindness Shown, Life, Observations, Perspectives, Philosophies of Life, Properties of Life, Socialization

Say What You Want to...

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.