You’re No. 1 in My Mind, from the Mind of a Teacher

Translated…

“Although you’re ranked LAST of your class, but, the attitude you took, to handling everything, you’re actually TOP of the class in my point of view!”

Early this morning, Jun-Ren from the First Class of the Sixth grade took out his year book, handed it to me, wanted me to write something that can give him the encouragements, without a second thought, I’d written those words down, tapped him on the shoulders, showed that I’d believed, how hard he’d worked.

Jun-Ren lives with his sixty-year-old grandmother, just the two of them, early every morning, he’d gone to recycle with his grandma, after 6:30 when the shifts were finished, he’d still must make breakfasts for his grandma, then, head to school for class; after school, he’d returned home to help his grandmother pick up the recycling materials, and wouldn’t get home until late at night.

“Jen is a very well-behaved and understanding boy, back when his parents divorced, they’d handed him to me, for the sake of making a living for the both of us, I’d started picking up recycling materials; I’d felt, that this, is shameful work, and so, I’d worn my face mask when I’d made my rounds, but, Ren told me, that we’d not robbed anybody, nor did we steal, there’s nothing to feel ashamed of doing what we did for a living.”  As Jun-Ren’s grandma talked of these events, her eyes started getting watery, “Ren is a very amazing kid, every day, he’d helped me on my recycling rounds, caused him to not have enough time to study, and he’d never complained about it.”

True, Jun-Ren was not only well-behaved, he was willing and able, to handle the public affairs for the class.  Last semester, as I’d assigned the cleaning areas, there were still two individuals needed for the fourth floor restrooms.  I knew, that there are NO students willing to do this sort of dirty and smelly job, but, as the disciplinary office’s director asked who’d wanted this job at the early morning gatherings, Jun-Ren raised his hands up first, and, invited his best friends to work alongside him.

And, as he’d cleaned up the restrooms, he’d rolled up his pants and sleeves, worked hard, to scrub the toilets clean; even in the cold winters when the water temperatures are freezing, he’d not slacked off either, he’d sweated it all out working the restrooms, giving this brand new aromatic scent to the restroom areas, which was originally wreaking of this rancid smell, he’d even gotten the excellent remarks each and every month by given by the schools too.

Actually, it isn’t that Jun-Ren hated studying, it’s because after his chores, he’d gotten too tired to do anything else.  But, his hard-working attitude awes us all, nobody in his class can compare.  And so, he’s ranked at number one in my mind, I will be giving him a certificate of achievement as well as a “first place for hard working mannerism” prize, to give him blessings for his future.

And so, the reason why this kid isn’t doing well is still NOT because he doesn’t study, but because he couldn’t find the time to study, because he had to help his grandmother work, to provide for them both, and, the teacher understood it, and, gave him the commends, and hopefully, this boy will take the teacher’s heart, and keep working, with his hard working mannerisms.

Leave a comment

Filed under Attitude, Coping Mechanisms, Cost of Living, Growing Up Too Fast, Life, Observations, Translated Work, Work Ethics

Say What You Want to...

