Rescue that Came on Time

Translated…

Going to school in Kaohsiung, a motorcycle IS a necessity, this, was from the experienced I’d gained, over the four years.  Once, I’d driven a friend to take the high speed trains, and on my way home, my gas meter stopped working, and when I’d realized that I was out of gas, it was, already too late.  In the midnight hours, I’d taken my motorcycle, walked along southward, feeling sorrow for myself.

Then, a car pulled up, “Hey bud, what can I help you with?”, it was, a woman in her forties.  “Oh, your motorcycle broke down.  Just park it by the side of the road, and get into my car.”

The woman bought a bottle of water, told me to drink it up, then, used the empty bottle, took it to a gas station, and, filled it up, she’d even paid for the gas.  “It’s no big deal, the cost is equivalent to a can of beer anyway.”  She’d patted me on the shoulders, as she’d told me.

“Where are you from?”, she’d asked.  “I’m from Taipei.”  “I’m from Pingdong.  People who live away from their home should look out for one another.  You can go to that super convenience shop outside of your school, I’ll treat you to a cup of coffee, that, is where I work, I’m taking the night shifts there.”, then, she’d rode off on her motorcycle as she waved goodbye to me.

Turns out, the stories in the textbooks, about how people help each other out is for real, and I was lucky enough, to encounter it that day.  After we’d left the books, as well as the schools, who, will remember all of that?   I’d made up my mind, to offer a helping hand, to those in need too.  With this warmth in my chest, I’d ridden my motorcycle, back to my dormitory.

And so, this, is how kindness gets passed along, you offered a helping hand to someone, and, the person you’d helped felt grateful, and, becomes more than likely to offer a helping hand to someone else, and that, is how the cycle of kindness will keep on rolling!

Leave a comment

Filed under Helping Behaviors, Kindness Shown, Stories of Hope

Say What You Want to...

