The Counter Clerk as the First Line, on Customer Service Skills

Ins and out of the workplace, translated…

My son came home after finishing with the sales from the bank where he’d worked, he’d smiled at me and told, “All who came to my counter today seemed to be in a great mood, they’d said thank you to me in a light voice after I’d helped them take care of their businesses!”

This reminded me, of how once, I’d taken my mother to the bank, the counter clerk had a straight face, with her arms extended forward, with my mother’s national identification card, looking down, then up at her, down, then up at her again, to check, that it was her in the picture.  My mother was getting somewhat agitated from getting stared at by the clerk, she’d made a joke in Taiwanese, “what?  I was once young too!”, the clerk thought it was too hilarious, and, the corners of her lips started lifting, and, this awkwardness in the air, all of a sudden, disappeared.

There was a post office nearby my house, and because I’d needed to take care of businesses, I’d gone in and out of it several times a month; there was a temporary clerk, “Ms. Tang”, I’d interacted with her for thirty years, and, not once did I see her lose her temper, and, she’d smiled at her customer, and said those kind words to the clients, she hadn’t changed to this date.

Every time I’d walked into the post office, seeing her there, it’s like I’m back at home, I feel very leisurely and relaxed.  She would always skillfully and kindly, helped her clients deal with what they needed assistance with, it was, as if, she were interacting with members of her families.

I’d often seen how she’d patiently giving the customers who didn’t know how to write the addresses out on the packages they’re sending.  A few days ago, because the rain made my envelope wet, and I didn’t have the extra money to get one more, she’d handed me one, told me, “Just use this one!”, but this envelope, would be out of her own pocket.

Normally, when people get into this sort of a situation, they’d usually become embarrassed.  At which time, if the personnel can be kind and gentle toward the inquiries from outside the counters, I’m sure, that it would make a good impression on the customers.  After all, the hardworking personnel of the front line, carried the image of the entire company!

That just shows, how important it is, if you work in the service industries, or any industries, really, to keep that smile on your faces, to make yourselves personable, so your clients and customers won’t feel any uneasiness when they come to you.

Leave a comment

Filed under A Cycle of Kindness, Interactions Shared with the World, Interpersonal Relations, Life, Observations, Professional Opinions, Properties of Life, Story-Telling, Translated Work, Work Ethics

Say What You Want to...

