The Matchmaking Dinner Date of a “Cougar”

On the matter called, “marriage”, translated…

In the past couple of years, being unwed, I’d chosen to head back home with my married older sisters to head back home to visit my mother’s family.  And because, last summer, my mother moved with my eldest brother and his family to Yilan, so, this year around New Year’s, was the very first time we’d gone to Yilan for the New Year, without realizing, that my mother set me up on a blind date too.

Mothers, worrying about the marriages of their unwed children, it’s only natural, but, I’m over fifty, and, I’d held a no-need attitude toward marriage now, but, my mother just won’t give it up.  This time the person she’d set me up with was a female neighbor’s younger brother in her new neighborhood, an engineer who’s two years junior to me.

And because I was pushed into it, I couldn’t get out of it, that very noon, after my sisters and I finished our meals, we’d gone to the nearby café to the blind date.  My older sisters sent my second eldest, who’s the most apt in socialization, to accompany me and my mother, to meet up with the person I was matchmaking with.  Originally, my other sisters, as well as brothers-in-law, and nieces all joked that they will be at a table nearby, it’s just, that there’s NOT enough room at the café, in the end, they’d gone strolling outside the café instead.

This time, my second sister worked, really, really hard, to find the topics, to resolve that uneasiness in the air, and I, downed cups of coffee, played on my cell phone, as for the person I’m matchmaking with, he didn’t have that much to say either.  During the entire thing, the only impression I got of him was, hair completely white, with the body and the style like an old man.  His family told me, that because he’d overworked his brains, that, was why his head was covered with white hairs, and that he was, introverted because of the lack of socializing with others.

We’d discussed on the way back to Taipei, my eldest sister made the conclusion, of how this “geek” wasn’t hard working enough.  What she meant was, before age twenty-five, we have our parents to blame for our looks, but after age twenty-five, we are to take the responsibilities of how we become, but the person I was match made with didn’t take good care of himself at all, so, even though he was not-yet fifty, he’d looked like he was already in his sixties.

There was once a female friend who’d told me, that everybody who came to this world, whether or not they’d end up getting married, s/he will always be alone in the very end, and because of this, we must make bodies and mind, in the most active states.   I can’t say, that I’d managed that completely, but, I’d found my bliss in my work, and living too, worked out regularly, hoped to live up to the statement of “a focused woman is a most beautiful one”.

And so, this, is the attitude one carries in life, and, the woman IS right, so, what IF we’re NOT married, that still doesn’t mean that our lives would SUCK, compared to those of you in the married population, does it?  So long as we’re able to live our lives in a fulfilling manner, make sure that we do everything we’re supposed to each and every day, being single, we can still shine, like stars!

Leave a comment

Filed under Life, Observations, Perspectives, Philosophies of Life, Socialization, Story-Telling

Say What You Want to...

