A Daughter Who Shows Gratitude

The ins & outs of life, translated…

“Mommy, can we give a few bags of meatballs and sausage made by dad to Aunt Wen-Jen this year?”

Hearing these words from my daughter, I couldn’t help, but smile on the inside, fi Wen-Jen had heard these words, she must feel very comforted, that she didn’t love my daughter for nothing.

When my daughter was in her second year of kindergarten, because both my husband and my visa to the U.S. were about to expire (back then, we needed to renew our visas every five years), we’d decided to go to Hawaii one more time.  But, we couldn’t get our daughter’s visa yet, and, getting one would not be matched to our time of departure, plus, the flight was over ten hours, she probably couldn’t withstand it.  When I was worried about it, my coworker, Wen-Jen “jumped out” to help me out.  After I’d taken my daughter to meet her once, my daughter had actually agreed, to go to her place while we went on our second honeymoon.

And now, five years had come to pass, my daughter still remembered the caring ways that Wen-Jen took care of her back then, and, when we’d taken her out to travel, she’d commented from time to time, “Aunt Wen-Jen and Uncle Xiang-Xiang had brought me here before.”

And, she’d told me of how she misses the big brother and big sister at Aunt Wen-Jen’s house, that it was, the best memories of her childhood years.

And now, as my daughter found chances to come to the school I worked, she’d always managed, to find Wen-Jen who’s working in the office, and, Wen-Jen is truly, a “Master of All Children”, she’d taken our child’s heart.  Being very handy, she’d made the purses herself, and, would remember to make one, with my daughter’s favorite cartoon characters.

Seeing how happy they interacted with one another, as a mom, I’m happy as well.  The friendship we shared got to continue on, and, my daughter seemed to have gained another set of parents, and the love of the older brother and sister too, and my daughter learned to be grateful too, that, was not what I’d expected to have happened.

This, would be the interaction, with someone’s child’s best friend, and, the child still recalled how nice the family that babysat for her was when she was younger, and, she’d wanted her mom, to give something back to the family that looked after her, kindness IS reciprocated here.

Leave a comment

Filed under A Cycle of Kindness, Because of Love, Child Development/Education of Children, Childhood, Connections, Friendships, Life, Relationship, Socialization, Translated Work

Say What You Want to...

