Where Do the Toys Go

On teaching the younger generations about giving, translated…

When my grandson was younger, I bought a ton of toys, after he’d started elementary school, the toys were packed up in plastic bags and left, in the corner of the storage unit.

One day I asked him, if it was okay that we give the toys he no longer played with to the kids in the orphanage? He’d agreed right away.

So the following weekend, I drove him, took the two bags of toys, to the orphanage, handed them to my friend. On the way back, I told my grandson, “You’re in elementary school now, you don’t play with the toys anymore, and it would be such a shame, to just throw them away, giving them to the kids in the orphanage, they’d be happy. Helping others make oneself happy, right?”

Seeing how he’d nodded his head, he seemed to get the purpose of my actions.

A few days ago, I’d found a box of toys from a drawer I rarely opened, it was, a box of puzzles of Spongebob Square Pants. I’d given it to a four-year-old in my neighborhood, under his older sister’s directions, he’d start4ed putting it together. His older sister in in the fourth grade, and knew the character of Spongebob, she gladly taught her younger brother how to put the pieces together, and kept saying “thank you” to me.

So, this, is teaching about the giving and receiving, to someone who’s young, the woman asked her grandson if he was willing to donate the toys he no longer played with anymore to the kids in the orphanage, by asking him that, she’s showing him that because the toys were his, she’d respected him, and, by dropping off the items, they saw how happy the kids were, and that is, a lesson in helping out, in giving to others, and, later on, when the woman gave the puzzles to the children in her neighborhood, she’d gotten a sense of making someone happy, and she feels very glad about it too.

Leave a comment

Filed under A Cycle of Kindness, Because of Love, Behavior Modifications, Child Development/Education of Children, Expectations, Lessons, Observations, Parenting/Parenthood, Perspectives, Philosophies of Life, Socialization, Translated Work

Say What You Want to...

