This Long and Hard-to-Win War with D-E-M-E-N-T-I-A

Every day had become a battle now, and, it just feels, that I have NO way of winning this, long and hard-to-win war with D-E-M-E-N-T-I-A here!

This long and hard-to-win war with D-E-M-E-N-T-I-A, I don’t even KNOW where to begin, because every time I’d gotten reminded of this war with dementia I’m in, well, I’d feel depressed, and, my family would try, to lift my mood up, and, when their attempts worked, I’d, forgotten, about my own dementia…

This long and hard-to-win war with D-E-M-E-N-T-I-A, I’d been on this journey, since I’d lost someone to it, and, I just couldn’t cope with, how my dearly beloved family member can just, forget about me, who I am to her/him, and, I felt, betrayed by her/him forgetfulness.

This long and hard-to-win war with D-E-M-E-N-T-I-A, I’m just, too tired, of having to fight it, and I just, want to give in, and give it all up, and just, stop battling, but, I just can’t, allow dementia, to take, ANOTHER parent from me, I won’t allow for it, I’d already lost dad, I’m not going to lose you too, mom………

This long and hard-to-win war with dementia, on some days, it seems, that I’m winning, and the very next moment that I realize, well, I’d lost my pants, and I just, can’t, fight it anymore.

Leave a comment

Filed under Coping Mechanisms, Dementia/Deterioration of the Mind, Downward Spiral, Family Matters, Life, Moods, Emotions, & Feelings, Old Age, Properties of Life

Say What You Want to...

