Calling Up Cancer-Prone Patients Who are Strangers to Me, Bringing Them Hope Through the Conversations

The kindness of “strangers” here, translated…

I picked up the phone, and started dialing an unfamiliar number, the phone rang for a short while, a weak voice came on the other end of the line, “Who are you?”, I’d quickly identified myself, “I’m friends of so-and-so, she wanted me to call you up, I’m also a breast cancer survivor who’d undergone chemotherapy.”

I know that you’re currently going through those days I’d already endured, they surely were depressing, if there’s any help I can offer you, don’t hesitate to let me know.”  After hearing me talk, there came sobbing on the other end of the line, as the woman had let down her guards now, started talking nonstop of the fears and the anxieties she’s had about being diagnosed with cancer.

I’d consoled her, “the pains are only temporary, after the therapy, you will be just like me, like a happy little bird every single day, traveling, hiking, going to community college for English, learning to cook, your days will be JUST as fulfilled as mine, if not more so.”  After hearing me out, she’d started laughing, I can hear that she’d carried a TON of hopes and expectations for her future.

During those days, we’d kept up the connections through the calls, it’d managed to close the distance between us two, even though we’d never met, it felt so very familiar.  I’d helped her through six months of chemo, it felt longer than a century, and, it’d finally ended in our cries and laughter.

And, just because I’d had my own experience with cancer, that’d given me even MORE empathy as I’d shared my experiences with my cancer prone sisters.

Whenever I’d recalled those days that I’d had gone through chemo, when I was trapped by my own panic and depression, there was a group of angel-like volunteers, using their own experiences, to motivate me, to throw those arms filled with love around me.

And, because there are a TON of patients who had turned into my close relatives, they’d helped me, encouraged me, cared for my wellbeing, I was able to transfer the love into a positive energy, and, I was able to carry forward in the battlefield of life.  Because I believe, that with our hard work, we are going to write an even MORE beautiful symphony together.

And, this, is how strangers connect, through common experiences, and, sometimes, these “unknown strangers” can offer MORE support than those around you, after all, your family members are NOT going through what you’re going through, so, at this time, OUTSIDE support would be deeply appreciated.

Leave a comment

Filed under A Cycle of Kindness, Coping Mechanisms, Friendships, Getting Treatment, Healing Process, Kindness Shown, Lending a Helping Hand, Moods, Emotions, & Feelings, My Thoughts on Various Issues, Properties of Life, Stories of Hope, Translated Work, Values

Say What You Want to...

